The Bible is a collection of sacred texts revered in Christianity, composed of two main parts: the Old Testament and the New Testament. The number of books in the Bible varies slightly depending on the specific religious tradition. Still, the most widely recognized version is the Protestant Bible, which contains 73 books. The books are divided into the following categories:

Old Testament (46 books):

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy
  6. Joshua
  7. Judges
  8. Ruth
  9. 1 Samuel
  10. 2 Samuel
  11. 1 Kings
  12. 2 Kings
  13. 1 Chronicles
  14. 2 Chronicles
  15. Ezra
  16. Nehemiah
  17. Tobit
  18. Judith
  19. Esther
  20. Job
  21. Psalms
  22. Proverbs
  23. Ecclesiastes
  24. Song of Solomon
  25. Wisdom
  26. Sirach (Ecclesiasticus)
  27. Isaiah
  28. Jeremiah
  29. Lamentations
  30. Baruch
  31. Ezekiel
  32. Daniel
  33. Hosea
  34. Joel
  35. Amos
  36. Obadiah
  37. Jonah
  38. Micah
  39. Nahum
  40. Habakkuk
  41. Zephaniah
  42. Haggai
  43. Zechariah
  44. Malachi

New Testament (27 books):

  1. Matthew
  2. Mark
  3. Luke
  4. John
  5. Acts of the Apostles
  6. Romans
  7. 1 Corinthians
  8. 2 Corinthians
  9. Galatians
  10. Ephesians
  11. Philippians
  12. Colossians
  13. 1 Thessalonians
  14. 2 Thessalonians
  15. 1 Timothy
  16. 2 Timothy
  17. Titus
  18. Philemon
  19. Hebrews
  20. James
  21. 1 Peter
  22. 2 Peter
  23. 1 John
  24. 2 John
  25. 3 John
  26. Jude
  27. Revelation


What is the significance of the number 73 in the Bible?

73 refers to the total number of books in the Catholic Bible. It includes seven books not found in Protestant Bibles, which have 66 books.

What are the seven books that are unique to the Catholic Bible?

The seven books not found in Protestant Bibles are Tobit, Judith, Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach (Ecclesiasticus), Baruch, and 1 and 2 Maccabees.

Why do Catholic and Protestant Bibles have different numbers of books?

The Protestant Reformation in the 16th century caused the difference in the number of books between Catholic and Protestant Bibles. The reformers rejected several books in the Catholic Old Testament, arguing that they were not part of the Hebrew Scriptures and were, therefore, not divinely inspired.

Are the books in the Bible arranged in chronological order?

No, the books in the Bible are not set in strict chronological order. Instead, they are grouped by category and genre. For example, the books of the Old Testament are generally arranged by type: historical books, wisdom literature, and prophetic books.

How was the canon of the Bible decided?

In the first few centuries BCE, the Jewish leaders primarily established the canon of the Old Testament, and in the fourth century CE, early Christian leaders finalized the canon of the New Testament after much debate and discussion. It took several centuries to decide which books should be included in the Bible, through a complex and gradual process.

Are there other versions of the Bible with different numbers of books?

Yes, several other versions of the Bible have varying numbers of readers. For example, the Eastern Orthodox Church includes several additional books in its Old Testament, while some Ethiopian Orthodox churches have a canon that provides even more books. Some religious traditions consider several apocryphal or deuterocanonical books as scripture, but not others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *